ÉLITE K9 – BED BUG DETECTION DOGS

Elite K9 specializes in bed bug detection and preventive inspection using trained and certified detection dogs. Exterminators have an average efficiency of 35 %, whereas detection dogs have a 98 %* efficiency average. Elite K9 dogs can tell dead bugs from live bed bugs no matter their form (egg, larva, or adult). If a dog detects a bed bug, a
second dog will confirm the detection. Our dogs are disciplined, obedient and effective.

Rapid and effective detection of bed bugs is a major step of integrated pest management. Elite K9 offers various services to carry out this step of your treatment strategy. To protect your investment, we offer a range of services suited to your budget.

A 2012 study conducted by William Reisen (Journal of Medical Entomology 53:2) revealed that 50 % of people with bed bugs in their apartment are unaware of it. During this time, the problem becomes more severe and harder to deal with.

In their genetic bed bug study, Booth et al. 2012 (Journal of Medical Entomology 49:3) observed that most infestations originate from a couple of bed bugs. All it takes for a neighbourhood to be infested is for a single person to come unwillingly into contact with a bed bug on public transit, while visiting friends, or at the movies, and for each bed bug or group of bed bugs to spread, which may spawn a whole new population of bed bugs.

Exterminators vs. Our Dogs

It takes a dozen technicians to inspect the same number of rooms as a team of Elite K9 dogs. Moreover, our dogs can detect and locate bed bugs three times more accurately within the same period.

Exterminators
35% accurate
$$$$$$

100%

Our Dogs
98% accurate
$

100%

Health Canada

Some people do not react at all to bed bug bites; this is particularly the case for seniors.

In its booklet on bed bugs, Health Canada suggests canine detection as a screening method. An early detection is the best way to prevent a bed bug left by a visitor from infesting your building. Disciplined, obedient and effective dogs.

Regular detection helps locate bed bugs while they are few in numbers and not widespread; it allows for fast extermination, prevents them from spreading and avoids the high costs involved. Customers rarely complain about the presence of bed bugs. Bed bug bites leave no traces in some people; this is particularly the case for seniors.

For example: At the hotel, a servicing cart, a client or a staff member can easily carry a bed bug from a room and contaminate other rooms, the laundry room, a conference room, the lobby, the
restaurant, etc.

*Ref. Pfiester, M., P. G. Koehler, and M. Pereira. 2008. Ability of bed bug-detecting canines to locate live bed bugs and viable bed bug eggs. J. Econ. Entomol. 101: 1389 Ð1396.

ÉLITE K9 – CHIENS DE DÉTECTION DE PUNAISES DE LIT

ÉLITE K9 est une entreprise qui se spécialise dans le service de détection et d’inspection préventive des punaises de lit avec des chiens entraînés et certifiés. Les exterminateurs ont une efficacité moyenne de 35 % en détection, les chiens de détections ont une efficacité moyenne de 98 %*.Chez Élite K9, nos chiens distinguent les punaises mortes des punaises vivantes et ce, peu importe leur forme (œuf, larve, adulte). Si une punaise est détectée, nous validons le verdict avec un 2e chien. Chiens disciplinés, obéissants et efficaces.

Une des étapes importantes de la lutte intégrée est de détecter rapidement et efficacement les punaises de lit. Élite K9 chiens de détection offre plusieurs services différents pour réaliser cette étape de votre stratégie d’intervention. Les services sont variés et adaptés au budget que vous désirez mettre pour protéger votre investissement.

Les études de William Reisen 2012 (Journal of Medical Entomology 53 :2) indiquaient que 50 % des gens qui ont des punaises de lit dans leur appartement ne s’en rendent pas compte. Pendant ce temps le problème grossit et devient plus difficile à traiter.

Booth et al 2012 (Journal of Medical Entomology 49:3) ont observés, dans leurs études génétiques sur les punaises de lit, que la plupart des infestations provenaient d’un seul couple de punaises. Dans un quartier, il ne suffit que d’une personne qui, en utilisant les transports publics, en visitant des amies, en allant au cinéma … distribue involontairement des punaises et que de chaque punaise ou petit groupe de punaises rependu, toute une nouvelle population pouvait émerger.

Exterminateurs VS Nos Chiens

Il faut une dizaine de techniciens pour inspecter la même quantité de pièces qu’une équipe de chiens d’Élite K9 et les chiens sont 3 fois plus précis à détecter et localiser les punaises à l’intérieur de ce délai.

Exterminateurs
précis à 35 %
$$$$$$

100%

Nos Chiens
précis à 98 %
$

100%

Santé Canada

Certaines personnes ne réagissent pas du tout aux piqûres. C’est particulièrement fréquent chez les aînés.

Dans son fascicule sur les punaises de lit, Santé Canada suggère la détection canine comme moyen de dépistage. La détection préventive est le meilleur moyen d’empêcher qu’une punaise laissée par un visiteur n’infeste votre immeuble. Chiens disciplinés, obéissants et efficaces.

Une détection régulière localise les punaises alors qu’elles sont peu nombreuses et peu répandues, permet l’extermination rapide, évite la propagation et les coûts élevés que cela implique. Les clients se plaignent rarement de la présence de punaises. Chez certaines personnes, les aînés en particulier, les piqûres ne laissent aucune trace.

Exemple : À l’hôtel, un chariot d’entretien, un client, le personnel peuvent facilement transporter une punaise provenant d’une chambre et contaminer d’autres chambres, la buanderie, les salles de conférence, le hall d’entrée, le restaurant, etc.

*Réf. Pfiester, M., P. G. Koehler, and M. Pereira. 2008. Ability of bed bug-detecting canines to locate live bed bugs and viable bed bug eggs. J. Econ. Entomol. 101: 1389 Ð1396.